Skip to content

Quote me happy!

December 4, 2012

Quotes, sayings and proverbs: that was originally going to be the main thread for this post. However, due to an overly emotional weekend of trying to rationalise with an insurance company, anything to do with quotes is now a sore point with me; I won’t bore you with the details, except to say that I doubt the motive behind the feminist movement was to ensure insurance companies charged extortionate premiums to both male and female drivers equally…and breathe out.

However, I feel continuing with this post may help me gain some much-needed emotional equilibrium.

I’ve always thought that quotes were something of an anomaly: one sentence could draw me in and I’d think this should be the mantra to my life; the next minute I’d see an adage flash up on a social network berating the whole male species and think how ridiculous to make such a sweeping statement. As a whole, I had quite a low opinion of holding onto these sayings and living life according to them, primarily finding them too simplistic.

In recent years, although I still find some of these quotes utterly ridiculous, especially those that try to squish everything about love and relationships into one sentence, or overly demonise either gender, I’ve come to understand that some sayings provide great inspiration and an aid in keeping life focused.

61783826108373898_qhVqtDoq_c

Mostly, I’ve found myself turning to sayings and quotes for motivation. The simplest one being a saying I’m never too far away as it’s emblazoned across most of my running clothes: ‘Just Do It’. A poignant slogan for me as I’m a bit of a ponderer and will always question every possible outcome, whereas sometimes, it’s better to ‘Just Do It.’

There are also sayings that I hold onto, that I know aren’t necessarily true, but provide some comfort, such as that from my great-grandmother, who I’ve been told used to say: ‘what’s meant for you, won’t pass you’.

I’ve come to realise, although we may find these sayings, adages and quotes that others live their lifes by as nonsensical, it’s how it helps you that matters. Whether that be a passage from the bible, a quote on a magnet or a saying passed through generations, we all have a little something that we hold onto.

Please leave a comment below if there’s a quote, saying or adage that you find particularly poignant, I’d love to hear!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Laurie permalink
    December 8, 2012 9:39 pm

    Everything happens for a reason.

Over to you...

