Skip to content

No soggy bottoms please!

January 21, 2013
Great British Bake Off

‘Just smile and no one will notice the profiteroles falling over…’

Never fails to raise a smile – the catchphrase belonging to Mary Berry, one of the judges on what has become must-see viewing in British households up and down the country: The Great British Bake Off.

Its return to our screens for The Great Comic Relief Bake Off has inspired me to write a quick post about some of the best bakes from the show, so I’ve compiled a few photos to give you a peek into what you’ve been missing if you haven’t seen the show, or to bring back some memories of the yummy bakes if you’re a bake off addict like me (and sneaked in a few of my bakes too!).

Has anyone tried any of the bakes from the show? Comment below and let me know how you got on!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. January 23, 2013 1:35 am

    Those little miniature swans (?) are too cute! Are those cupcakes or…?

    • January 23, 2013 9:55 am

      They’re lovely aren’t they, (almost) too nice to eat – they’re choux pastry, they’re from episode 9 of series 3 where the theme for the week was patisserie and the bakers had to make petit fours. There were even more amazing bakes that I can’t find photos of, but I managed to find a bit of a selection!

  2. January 25, 2013 12:15 pm

    I liked the bee-hive cake from last night – very sweet 😀 Don’t think I’d attempt that though, I love baking but decoration isn’t my strong point.
    I do have an ambition to do choux pastry but I’m nervous so haven’t done it yet – my bakewell tarts and lemon meringue pies are great hits though 🙂

    • January 25, 2013 12:45 pm

      Me too! I’m always tempted by Red Velvet cake so quite liked Claudia’s cake too!
      Ah sounds like you’ve tried more than me – I made one giant cupcake then got a reputation so found myself making them for everything haha! My signature bake is my brownies – they’re under the recipes category – they turn out perfect every time!

      • January 25, 2013 12:50 pm

        Oooo brownies 😀 lovely I’ve tried several recipes for them and would love to attempt another. Did I post about brownies? I can’t remember, I planned to last year but not sure if it made the cut 😀 lol
        I’m hungry now :p

        • January 25, 2013 1:01 pm

          I’ve never been able to get them right before finding the recipe I blogged about – I’m actually supposed to be making them tonight for a baby shower tomorrow – if the snow doesn’t stop me getting there!

  3. February 1, 2013 6:08 pm

    I’ve never seen that show! Probably because we don’t get it in the states..or Canada. But everything looks delicious! Yummm

    • February 1, 2013 8:26 pm

      I think it’s coming to the US this year, I’m not obsessive (much) about the show I just stumbled aross it when I was looking for photos. The bakers are Amazing!

Over to you...

