Skip to content

Carrie Bradshaw’s Column: A Writer’s Dream

March 17, 2013

 

English: New York City panorama from Hoboken, ...

English: New York City panorama from Hoboken, NJ (USA). Français : Panorama sur la ville de New York, pris depuis Hoboken, dans le New Jersey (États-Unis). (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

Carrie

‘And then I wondered, how could a gal like me flit around New York City, enjoying all it has to offer, own all these shoes; yet only ever write one line…’

The summer after I’d completed my English degree, in the midst of pondering what was to be the next step in my life, I’d considered studying a Masters in Creative Writing. Whilst this was an exciting prospect, I’d questioned what this could offer me in terms of career progression and economic security. As I leaned on the counter of the cafe in which I was working at the time, I came to the supposition that although I was drawn to the Masters, realistically a writer’s life would never be similar to that of Carrie Bradshaw‘s.

I mean, I didn’t fill out the application form using Carrie as my inspiration, but when considering what a career in writing could provide me with, I kind of thought the Sex and the City script writers perhaps over-inflated the amount of Jimmy Choos you could actually buy on a columnist’s wage; as well as portraying a disproportionate shopping, partying and general fun to writing ratio which would be necessary to make it as a writer. No wonder Carrie only ever has to time to write the opening line of her column.

I assume the rest of her column discusses the intricacies of life based on her own experience, which, as someone who is always conscious of not writing anything too personal or offensive, begs the question: how come no one ever discusses the column with Ms Bradshaw, or is offended by her use of real experience as content?! Wouldn’t it be ideal for a writer or anyone who puts their personal opinion into the public sphere to never receive any kind of backlash or opposition?

She gets the odd compliment on her writing at parties; but her friends, lovers and boyfriends never seem to decipher the content of column, and say ‘HEY, when you were talking about that guy you just don’t love anymore, you were talking about me right?’. No, they just seem to carry on oblivious while Carrie dissects her relationships for the whole world to see without so much as a ‘can you stop talking about me in your column please!’

I can’t begrudge her completely, apart from the fact that she’s a fictional character, I actually enjoy writing and if it was my job, I’d be happy to write every day rather than be envious of someone who only sits down at their laptop in a spacious Manhattan flat once a week, in between sipping Cosmos and general hobnobbing…okay so maybe I would be envious of that last part.

I never did take up the offer of doing a Creative Writing Masters, instead opting for a law conversion course which seemed like the sensible decision at the time. Although now, sitting down at my laptop, slipping into some over-sized Y-fronts and tousling my tumbling golden locks, I can’t help but wonder, are the paths that once appeared to us to be the most daunting, sometimes the ones that will be the most fruitful in the end? (So that last bit of ponderment was a bit cheesy but it should now keep me in Mulberry handbags for at least a year, right?).

5 Comments leave one →
  1. cristaramone permalink
    March 17, 2013 7:30 pm

    How we all strive to be Carrie Bradshaw. *flat lines at laptop*

    • March 17, 2013 8:29 pm

      So true – her life is great! I guess that’s partly why SATC is such compelling viewing.

  2. March 25, 2013 12:56 am

    It seems to me that the script writers definitely overinflated the amount of Jimmy Choos a writer could really buy, like you mentioned, but you can’t help but love Carrie anyway.

    • March 25, 2013 9:18 am

      Definitely, kudos to the writers for making an enviable character who we all love anyway!

  3. April 12, 2014 3:17 am

    Reblogged this on The Writer Monkey.

Over to you...

