Skip to content

Clothes Coveters Anonymous

April 1, 2013

Every so often, maybe once every couple of months, I become so obsessed with one item of clothing, accessory or type of shoe, that I can’t stop thinking about it.

If I see someone else wearing the item I’m currently lusting after, I make a mental note – ‘other people are wearing them, you’re not a fool to be besotted, get it before you fall out of love!’.

My current obsession is leather jackets, I already have one, but excuses can be made to justify a new purchase  – ‘I bought it five years ago’, ‘everyone’s borrowed it – it’s been to five continents for Gawd’s sake!’.

I could blame these obsessions on other people – fashion magazines force me into feeling uncool if I don’t buy the fashion item du jour – marketing spiel tells me I NEED one, but who am I to blame these outside forces? Surely I’ve got willpower; the freedom to make my own choices?

But there’s this NEED to compulsively purchase new items of clothing, shoes or accessories which has now been so normalised, and although I consider it an unhealthy obsession, we’re made to feel it’s quite okay to go out and buy the latest ‘must-have’; not really giving it a second thought.

And there it is, they’re ‘must-haves’. Is there any more persuasive use of language than coming right out and telling us that we must have that leather jacket, pair of hi-top trainers, figure-hugging dress, tote bag, nail colour, hairstyle, hand cream, eye cream or anything else that has made its way from an idea in Stella McCartney‘s head to the high street rails?

There’s no consequence if the item isn’t bought, apart from looking terribly last season. I mean who wears a trend once it’s over? But there’s still an overarching power that I just can’t deny wants to be fed.

Is it time to check myself in at CCA (Clothes Coveters Anonymous)?

The first step is denial. I guess spending frivolously when I was younger, I’m talking once/twice a week in Primark or H&M, perhaps Topshop if I was feeling particularly frivolous, and not questioning why I needed to have these items, apart from wanting to feel part of the fashion zeitgeist, could be counted as denial. Admitting the problem. Deep breath… my name’s Erin, and I covet clothes. Fixing the problem? I’m sure this is probably what any obsessive would say, but is there any harm if I haven’t actually bought a new leather jacket?

I guess I’d be one of those people walking out of the meeting, flailing my arms in the air and shouting ‘problem?! I don’t have a problem!’, as I’ve made a collection below of the leather jackets that I quite like.

It’s against everything that I should be doing, but I can’t keep following people around hoping they may sit down and take off their jacket so I can take a peek at their label.

I’d be more than willing to hear about any items of clothes you’re currently coveting – have you been a coveter in the past and are in recovery? Let me know.

Whistles Mila Leather Jacket£295.00

Whistles Mila Leather Jacket
£295.00

MANGO LEATHER BIKER JACKET £114.99

MANGO LEATHER BIKER JACKET £114.99

Oasis Becky Buckle Faux Leather Jacket Price: £58.00

Oasis Becky Buckle Faux Leather Jacket Price: £58.00

RIVER ISLAND BLACK LEATHER BIKER JACKET £100

RIVER ISLAND BLACK LEATHER BIKER JACKET £100

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2013 2:15 am

    Leather jackets? Oh you and me both, sister. My old one, which was fake leather but looked quite real, finally bit the dust and started crumbling (who knew that stuff crumbles??). I’ve been on the hunt for one ever since. I’ve kind of forgotten about it recently in light of other things but your post has reminded me why I need to go out and get a new one. No, I do not have a problem. So what if I eye-stalk every girl I see with a decent leather jacket? It’s totally normal, right? 😉

    • April 2, 2013 8:48 am

      Haha, I don’t want to encourage people, but it would go with everything, right? Put a scarf with it when it’s still a bit cool, or wear it with summer clothes to give them a bit of an edge – just so versatile! If you wore it ’til it crumpled you definitely got your money’s worth – a new one is a must! 🙂

  2. April 3, 2013 7:57 pm

    A great leather jacket can definitely make you look amazing so I can’t fault your logic!

    • April 3, 2013 8:30 pm

      Totally – I think it’s one of those wardrobe staples that just goes with everything…I’m seeing them all over the place now too! Not good for resisting a purchase!

Over to you...

