Skip to content

Cake, cake, cake!

April 8, 2013

On Sunday just gone, I went to the Cake and Bake Show in Manchester, and thinking there’d be lots of yummy cakes on show, I took my camera along. Luckily that I did, as when asked for tasters from the audience I was picked out as the girl with the camera round her neck, so it scored me some yummy freebies!

There was so much on show, my sister and I really didn’t know where to start! The first table we encountered was displays by companies who do weddings and parties etc, not much free tasting, but a lot of creativity!

We had a further browse around the show and came across Stacie Stewart, owner of The Beehive Bakery and ‘Food, Glorious Food‘ judge, carrying out a demonstration of a hazelnut meringue and brownie cake, I then got my two seconds of fame by going up and tasting – I can confirm that it was delicious! She’s also a great personality – as anyone who’s watched ‘Food Glorious Food’ has probably worked out.

We had a general mooch around the massive array of cakes on sale – only actually buying a salted caramel brownie from The Brownie Bar which was delicious, if not a little bit overly gooey.

As well as watching a demonstration by Paul A Young, a lovely chocolatier, we watched a mini Great British Bake Off with some past contestants and saw even more wonderful cakes from the Clandestine Cake Club, a cake catwalk competition and cakes from the Squires School of Bakery.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2013 2:04 am

    Oh my……. I’m having a food-gasm just by looking at these pictures. Good call on taking the camera along with you. 😉 Now please excuse me while I run to the nearest cafe and get myself a piece of cake!

    • April 10, 2013 9:15 am

      Haha there were a lot of lovely cakes there – I wish I’d had more now – everything was snapped up so quickly! Definitely gave me inspiration to start up my own cake/chocolate business!

  2. Atreyu Crimmins permalink
    April 20, 2013 1:01 pm

    Yep, foodgasm is the word! Oh my, thank you for this, I foresee an impromptu outing to the bakers…

  3. April 25, 2013 1:59 pm

    Those cakes look amazing! I would feel bad cutting one up to eat it. Almost.

Over to you...

