Skip to content

A Shuffle Ball Change Makes Everything Better

April 15, 2013

You should probably only blog when you’ve got something to say, but I’ve got a bit of a problem. It started last Monday when I realised that I had in fact coincidentally also blogged the previous Monday, which left me in a bit of a predicament. I’ve unwittingly attached a day to my blogging updates. I could throw caution to the wind and leave my blog alone until a bolt of inspiration strikes me and I have to scribble something down, but similarly to my need to have an even number of Facebook friends, and my younger self’s obsession of always having to have my quilt completely crease-less, I feel like I’m being dragged into a whirlpool which isn’t letting me get out of this Monday rut.

I’m erring away from writing anything critical or negative, there’s enough of that about, instead I’m opting for writing a post on things I really like at the minute, or things that are just giving me pure joy.

Musical Theatre Workout

This is a fitness class at my local leisure centre, which is so much fun! It’s only on once a week but I could do it all day, every day. For one whole hour, we basically dance to all the songs from the musicals, from Wicked, to Billy Elliot, to Legally Blonde, every musical you can think of our fitness instructor (who is such a good dancer!) has choreographed dances to, is there really anything better than that?!

‘Reality’ TV

This is such a guilty pleasure, and I know it’s not actually reality, but I love the escapism it provides. My favourites are Geordie Shore (groans from the whole nation) and Made in Chelsea. Geordie Shore, apart from the completely questionable antics they get up to, is actually quite funny, and I love that they’re completely unpretentious, something which is hard to come by now the UK has an extra four social classes to clamber through (really BBC, really?!). I don’t like Made in Chelsea quite as much as it’s much slower and there are a LOT of dramatic looks, which makes the actual dialogue quite sparse, but I like the little glimpse you get into a completely different world (these people are nearly all heiresses or just rahdiculously rich!).

Work, work, work…working on my shit

I love this song by Iggy Azalea, especially when it wasn’t played as much, I’ve heard it three times today so I think I’m getting over it – but it’s so catchy and fun!

American TV

Erm, so this is another TV thing, but I think American TV is really having a moment right now, or maybe I just never noticed it before. There was always Friends, then Will and Grace, but I think the humour in new American programmes is really spot on. I’m talking programmes like ‘The New Normal‘, ‘New Girl‘ and ‘The Mindy Project‘, which just really seem to have gotten out of the cheesy, canned laughter genre and are actually really funny.

The New Normal

Is there anything bringing a little bit of sunshine into your day at the minute?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2013 5:34 am

    Wait. That musical theater workout sounds amazing. I’m so jealous of that! I’m kind of getting into yoga lately (and by kind of, I mean I’ve done it once this week…lol). I might do a post on it!

    • June 19, 2013 8:43 am

      Yes it’s sooooo good! Except one week when the teacher randomly did loads of backstreet boys instead of musical songs – still loved it! Defo do the yoga post!

Over to you...

